The Importance of Mothers

Motherhood is the greatest potential influence either for good or ill in human life. The mother’s image is the first that stamps itself on the unwritten page of the young child’s mind. ~ President David O. McKay

mother

by Pete Ferguson

I’m traveling for work this week, but wanted to drop a line about moms. Especially since I’m married to one of the best moms I know.

It is amazing to see my wife transform over the years to being a great mom. It requires a selflessness I can’t match, but work to emulate. 

Miles – almost three – will often say “I want my mom” as though I am some stranger and regardless of how much fun we are having together. At night he dives for her when I sit down with him on the bed. Not fair in a way, but I’m glad he feels loved. 

My mom sacrificed much to raise six children. She was at home when we arrived and defended us when we got into trouble – then talked to us later about our actions. 

I’ve had a lot of fun with my mom in recent years. While living in Hong Kong, I would travel for business and she and I would tour the Great Buddah, or take a ferry to a new island and explore. 

It is amazing the power women have on us. Men too, but our relationship with our mothers started physically 8-9 months prior to our fathers. 

If you are a mom – I hope you had a great Mother’s Day!

4 thoughts on “The Importance of Mothers

  1. Good to see a Mother’s Day dedication. I didn’t expect my wife to be such a great mother, either. She sacrifices almost everything just so our son is healthy and happy. It’s very touching to watch, but painful at times, too. My mom also gave up her entire career to raise my sister and me. I can never be that selfless; I think men just need more effort?

    • Daniel, thanks for your comments. As men, we can always apply more effort, but I also have seen my children fluctuate between me and my wife at different stages. Children do not need two parents who are exactly the same – it is the contrast that makes it more interesting in my opinion.

      Did your mom give up a career – or did she gain a more important perspective? I find it useful to look at what I’m moving towards – and not what I’m giving up – when making a decision. I’d be curious if your mom really felt she gave up all that much – or if she feels like she gained so much more.

      • I don’t think my mom regrets her decision not to hire a babysitter; she’s always been proud of raising her children herself. We now follow her example, and even though it takes a lot of time, it’s so worth it. My sister and I turned out pretty well, I think. If she had hired a babysitter and gone to pursue a career or anything else, I don’t know where we would have ended up. 😉

        I’ve actually never spoken to her about what it feels like to be a parent. Now that I’m a parent myself, it’s probably a good time to do it. I think she’d say she gained much more. Looking back at my own experience, when I became a father, the things I gave up were insignificant compared to the joy I gained.

Please insert your comments below:

