Sleep, Dreams, and Reality

The deep blankets of a Spring morning beckon me back into their warm depths. With a swipe of a finger across “snooze”, I order five minutes more.

Like a mistress, my pillow brushes against my cheek, asking me what could possible be better than to court her the rest of the day.

Within the labyrinth of my mind, dreams await while reality beckons me stronger.

While dreaming allows for limitless possibilities, it is like feasting on water. The mind and body each crave more. So I formulate my plan, jump out of bed, and welcome Monday morning.

by Pete Ferguson

Today we started back up on Boot Camp and I was reminded within seconds that my body is now pushing 41, my mind 20. But the stern encouragement from our coach pushed me through resistance and I was able to discover what lay beyond the mark I thought represented 100%.

We had taken almost a year off to do our own thing. But 28 lbs heavier than where we last left off, I need the structure, encouragement, and accountability.

Our bootcamp is the dream realized by our instructor, Marianne Heder. Marianne was overweight, depressed, and feeling hopeless when she decided she was sick and tired – of being sick and tired. She signed up for every fitness class she could at the local gym, eventually was invited to be an instructor, and dove into every book she could get her hands on.

Eventually she shoved off on her own, and we met her shortly afterwards.

This morning as we tossed around 45lb bags of wood stove pellets, I was again amazed at how she takes what is easily available and works with it.

Her dream has become a reality because she is innovative and moves forward – and lifts where she stands instead of waiting to stand in the perfect place.

Sleep is great, for 6-8 hours a day. But living a great life is far more rewarding for the remaining waking hours.

But I have promises to keep, and miles to go before I sleep, and miles to go before I sleep. ~ Robert Frost

Have a prosperous and enjoyable Monday!

4 thoughts on “Sleep, Dreams, and Reality

  1. “Sleep is great, for 6-8 hours a day. But living a great life is far more rewarding for the remaining waking hours.” So very true! I am excited for you, Pete, as you embrace the blessings of bootcamp — and of a life lived greatly!

  2. Pingback: Boot Camp | learnactshare

Please insert your comments below:

