3 Signs of Great, Long Lasting Friendship

I’ve moved around quite a bit and I’m sometimes jealous of those who still live in the same town, hang out with their high school buddies on weekends, etc. As a result, I mistakenly have thought that perhaps I do not have any great friends. Then I read this post and reflected on those who are hanging out with their high school buddies and have been anchored to their past and likely do not benefit from the three signs listed.

by Pete Ferguson

I do have great friends I look forward to talking to, checking in with, and being accountable to. I’m reenergized each time I meet with them and I feel like a better person and the hours feel like minutes.

This will sound cheesy, but I’m also amazed every time I see my wife Steph in action. It’s like I’m meeting a great person for the first time and I’m in awe of her talents and drive. I live with her daily, and of course I sometimes take advantage of our relationship. But a short business trip or long hours at work always makes me glad and humbled that I have her – and excited to be near her again – and that she is willing to put up with me!

Reach out to a great friend, let them know how much they are appreciated. I need to go and write a love note to Steph.

Reblogged from http://everydaypowerblog.com … as the link has been fickle, I’ve pasted it entirely here:

Some friends you see all the time, some friends you see here and there and some friends you don’t see as often as you would like. The beautiful thing about friendship is that it lives in the heart, so daily sight isn’t always needed for them to have a place in your life. Here are 3 clear signs you have a great friend.

Screen Shot 2013-04-10 at 5.52.12 AM

1. When you see them, it is like no time has passed.  Yes, you might not have seen them in weeks, months or even years but when you do see them,  it picks up right where it left off. The conversation, the jokes, mutual appreciation and love are strong.

2. Your friend is genuinely happy to hear your good news, and vice versa. Even though there has been time apart, your success makes the other person glow and vice versa! When one close friend achieves, we all do! When one close friend makes big moves in their life, we all do!

3. After reuniting with that friend for lunch, dinner , coffee or even a trip, you think – I am blessed to have that person my life. Odds are with any close friend you have in your life, there was a period where you would see or talk to that person regularly. Now that times might not be like that, you are even more thankful to have them as a part of your life and even your identity.

The quality of our life is based on the quality of our relationships. One of the strongest relationships we can have is a great friend!

“What is a friend? A single soul dwelling in two bodies.” -Aristotle

One thought on “3 Signs of Great, Long Lasting Friendship

  1. Pete, thank you for this beautiful post! I agree with you and with Ann: the three points speak perfectly about a great friend! Indeed how blessed we are by our friends…all of whom are God’s gracious gifts!

Please insert your comments below:

