Taking Action

A man who has to be convinced to act before he acts is not a man of action. You must act as you breathe.
Georges Clemmanceau

by Pete Ferguson

I love Fridays. You’ve just about made it through the week, survived another one, and now it is time to unwind and focus more on personal pursuits. But I love Mondays too – so full of potential, a nice clean start to another week of adventures, successes, and failures to learn from.

I would be “sleeping in” instead of going to the gym except that I’m in a hotel room. And sleeping in for me is usually 6 am unless I can take two weeks off and seriously unwind. Who has time to sleep in when there is so much to do?

Slowly and shockingly, I realized that it does not take moving a mountain to achieve true happiness and fulfillment. It takes small shifts in perspective, a massive dose of self-confidence and self-esteem – none of it can be faked, all of it stems from within – and a determination to not give up until you find what you are meant to do with your life. ~ Farnoosh Brock

I’ve been helping Farnoosh edit her upcoming project: “Cracking The Code” about how to succeed in Corporate America. Farnoosh has been helping me garner more confidence and stick to commitments.

Yesterday it was decided that Farnoosh and I are to be accountability coaches for each other. She has to wade through my and many other’s edits for her ten chapter project before her upcoming birthday in April. I will get my book organized and in the editing process for a Kindle release by June 1st. And yesterday we both agreed it is time to get cracking!

I’ve had a number of accountability coaches. My wife of course. Myself. A colleague, Lauren, pushed me to register this domain name and write my first blog. Dan Miller’s Coaching With Excellence and a room of 50 people committed me to writing four blogs a day last May which has resulted in 90,000+ words. Ellie Gates has inspired me to take action on many things and has been a great corporate mentor. Jeff David committed me to give a go at coaching where I learned that is not where I currently need to be – but at least now I know!

“Do not lie in a ditch, and say God help me; use the
lawful tools He hath lent thee.”
— English Proverb

My father, now 68, just declared his desire to drop some serious weight so he can be around for another 10 years (I’m hoping for 20). He has enlisted all six of us in the gig and is willing to pay for pounds lost depending on our BMI scores. I will go public with that next week as it will be both embarrassing and a push to take action.

Having goals is good. But if they are in your head, they won’t happen. Writing them down is a great psychological way to commit, but sharing them openly and publicly is a great way to get scared into action I’ve found.

“Luck comes to a man who puts himself in the way of it. You went where something might be found and you found something, simple as that.” ~ Louis L’Amour, To the Far Blue Mountains

As I prepared for a radio interview this past week I was reminded of a transformative point in my life. Burnt out and making stupid decisions, I had a sabbatical of 5 weeks paid time off to get my life together. In the process, I found an old journal where TEN YEARS previously I had written down five goals – and achieved none of them.

Do you want to know who you are? Don’t ask. Act! Action will delineate and define you. ~ Thomas Jefferson

I have since repented and I’m working very diligently on all five of those goals and a few more.

What are your goals, and who is holding you accountable?

Related articles

2 thoughts on “Taking Action

  1. Pete, you once again share a powerful post! I agree that goals without action are not much more than words on paper; goals combined with intentional action, however, are phenomenally powerful. Accountability is key. It is a blessing to see you take action and inspire others to do the same!

Please insert your comments below:

