Humor is the Best Medicine – Farnoosh Brock Podcast

I’m feeling a bit under the weather this week, check out my friend Farnoosh Brock’s excellent podcast with comedian and public speaker Johnny Domenico.

Go to Farnoosh’s podcast now. Interview starts at 6 mins 50 sec.

From my notes:

Having lived around the US and traveled internationally, Johnny’s point about transformation is very important. Right now I cannot use my New Jersey accent, but put me on the phone with my brother in New York and it will instantly come back involuntarily. Same for using British terms, the minute I speak with someone in India, I have learned that using Brit terms put us on the same communication plane. Texas drawl, midwestern, etc. There is a fine line between syncing with someone and going too far to sound like an impostor.

A few of my favorite excerpts:
– “With humor, with comedy, retention goes up almost 50% immediately.” You also want to share something humorous.
– “People want to be around people who are fun and positive”

Action items:
– Take an improv class: everything is a “yes” – you accept what is given you and work with it – and it helps you focus on the moment, live in the moment
– Be present when you are engaging people, show interest in them (listen more than you talk). Be interested rather than interesting.

Homework:

  1. Record yourself talking. How do you sound? Think about your physicality. The voice you hear the least is your own.
  2. Ask your spouse, a friend, a relative: “what is my style as a communicator?” Abrupt? Too passive? Be open to feedback – if they just say you are great, probe deeper, ask more engaging questions.
  3. Join Toastmasters. This has been on my “to do” list for several years. Time to make it a “to done.”
Please insert your comments below:

