Starting at the End

“I am not a product of my circumstances. I am a product of my decisions.” ~Stephen R. Covey

by Pete Ferguson

In setting out to accomplish a great task, a practice that will greatly aid your success is to define the end point, envision what the success will feel like, and then create your plan for arrival by working backwards from a predetermined date.

It sounds simple enough, but how many of us really practice this in creating goals and resolutions?

We do practice this principle everyday – most likely – when we commute to work, school, the store, and home. We know the destination we need to eventually arrive at and so we set a course. We know roughly how long it takes to get somewhere, so we determine when to leave.

Our minds are such an amazing thing. We are able to design success and taste it before it becomes reality.

When we create something, we always create it first in a thought form. If we are basically positive in attitude, expecting and envisioning pleasure, satisfaction and happiness, we will attract and create people, situations, and events which conform to our positive expectations.

~ Shakti Gawain

A secret that has greatly helped me over the past year to meet my goals requires using my hand to write these plans down on paper with a pencil.

There is something very real to writing with a pencil. It is artistic. It involves the senses. It is the mind moving the hand and the eyes seeing the contract I write onto paper. My nose smells the graphite and my hand feels the fibers of the paper.

Paper can be a luscious and beautiful thing — the way we savor fine food and wine, we can savor paper and ink and what it does for us. Paper reminds us that we’re physical beings, despite having to contend with an increasingly virtual world. It slows us down to think and to contemplate and to revise and recast.

Steve Leveen, co-founder and C.E.O. of Levenger

Despite all the digital devices in my world – and I am a techno-junkie – and I greatly enjoy the analogue process of paper when it comes to planning and recording success.

And as I work out my plans for 2013, I am instilling 20-30 minutes a day to review my long-term goals, review my success so far, and dream about where I am headed as I take daily action in fulfilling my plan.

And each time I move past a milestone to success, I get to feel the victory one step at a time and savor the work accomplished thus far. I recommit to my goals each week as I write them down anew. I must account for my actions as I record what took place the previous week.

What trade secrets do you have to accomplish your goals?

Please insert your comments below:

