Secret Acts of Service

As the Christmas Season fades into a distant memory and the New Year commences, remember to keep acts of service in your regular routine.

by Pete Ferguson

As the “It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas” song states: “And Mom and Dad can hardly wait for school to start again …” we are a bit relieved to have our children return to a regular routine. Being home together is great, but the last few days everyone has been restless and a bit bored – and taking it out on their siblings.

Tonight, Steph had the idea of “SAS” – Secret Acts of Service. Kind of like a Secret Santa, we draw a name each week of a member in the family and then do our best to serve them – without them knowing.

Miles, who is only two-and-one-half, wanted to be part of the action, and put a blank piece of paper in the cup we were using, pulled it out and said “Happy Hunger Games!”

I don’t think Miles quite gets what were were hoping to accomplish – thankfully we will not be sending anyone whose name has been pulled to a battle to the death.

Previous to Christmas, I had posted about how to prepare for service. Putting a blanket, gloves, and extra window washer fluid and antifreeze in your car is good protection for you and allows you to actually be prepared should you pull over to help someone.

But having the attitude of service – and gratitude of service which has been rendered to you – is an important beginning.

Do something for somebody, gladly, twill sweeten your every care; In sharing the sorrow of others your own are less hard to bear. Do something for somebody always, whatever may be your creed. There’s nothing on earth can help you so much as a kindly deed. ~ Author Unknown

I’m looking for ways to serve.

I believe angels are mostly mortal just like you and me. I have been stranded and a good old cowboy pulled over immediately to help me. I’ve been overseas and neighbors have shoveled snow for Steph. I’ve had days where I just needed someone friendly to approach me or tell me that what I’m doing matters.

Regardless of the need, I’m glad someone has always been there to help. Sometimes I notice it immediately. Sometimes I do not recognize the act of service until later when I have reflected on a moment or told someone else a story and then realized that I was getting help – but I was too blind in the moment to recognize it.

May your 2013 be full of service to you – and by you.

God bless, and a VERY HAPPY NEW YEAR to you and your family!

One thought on “Secret Acts of Service

  1. Pingback: Pay it Forward | learnactshare

Please insert your comments below:

