Resiliency – Bounce Back!

Courage is not the absence of fear,
but rather the judgement that something
else is more important than fear.
~ Ambrose Redmoon

by Pete Ferguson

I know many who live their lives in fear. Of course at times I also allow fear to impede my ability to succeed.

I’ve studied fear well – I’m certainly not an authoritative expert – but what I’ve learned is that when I allow fear to control me it is because I am more focused on something bad I want to move away from.

Courage takes focusing on something great to move towards. It is a visionary faith that a course of direction is the right one and that the end result has to be better than the current “reality.”

The timid presume it is lack of fear that allows the brave to act when the timid do not. But to take action when one is not afraid is easy. To refrain when afraid is also easy. To take action regardless of fear is brave. ~ Redmoon

There are things you likely set out to accomplish this year which have not materialized and likely are not going to occur in the next 18 days.

What holds most people back is fear of failure, but if I don’t take action, I’ll fail by default, so what have I got to lose?

Geoffrey James

Screen Shot 2012-12-13 at 7.15.02 AMI would hope that there are also things which have gone better than expected which give you a great sense of pride and gratitude as you look back over the year.

As you examine both, remember that success leaves clues – as does failure. Regardless of the balance between success and “failure” this year, do not fail to be a student of the clues!

“Negative results are just what I want. They’re just as valuable to me as positive results. I can never find the thing that does the job best until I find the ones that don’t.”
~Thomas A. Edison

As I type here, I am not at the weight I had hoped to be this time of year. There are many reasons for it, all of which I examine and must make a conscious decision to defeat in the coming year as I establish my goals.

As a perfectionist, I could beat myself up, consider myself “lazy,” but I’m not lazy. I’ve awakened at 4:40 am to go to the gym 2-3 days a week with my wife and our trainer for many months. Earlier in the year we worked out 6 days a week. I am lifting greater weight than I’ve ever lifted in my life and I am able to keep up with my children better than ever.

So to feel lazy and think that I just need to work harder is a false positive result.

To be successful at this goal, I must be more intentional. Food consumption is the core issue and the vice. I medicate with food. I know I do. I know many of the triggers which cause it to happen.

Addition comes in many forms, eating just happens to be one of the most socially acceptable vices in America.

Now I just have to have courage – and the faith that I am resilient – to overcome. I must place more joy in what I want to move towards than joy in suffering what I want to move away from.

Between stimulus and response there is a space. In that space is our power to choose our response. In our response lies our growth and our freedom. ~ Viktor E. Frankl

Resiliency allows me to look forward instead of over my shoulder. I have 18 days to get a head start on the successes I am looking forward to in 2013.

What great dreams do you have for the coming year? Damn the fiscal cliff – the sun will still rise and set, the birds will still sing, and you will still be you, waiting for the best YOU to be introduced to the world!

I’m sick of following my dreams. I’m just going to ask them where they’re goin’, and hook up with them later. ~ Mitch Hedberg

One thought on “Resiliency – Bounce Back!

Please insert your comments below:

