The Power of NOW!

The past is full of memories. The future can only be created in our minds. But NOW is when we can decide what kind of life we live.

by Pete Ferguson

I read several articles on the importance of being in the moment this past weekend and ever since I have hit almost every traffic light red.

As I’m accustomed to hitting most lights green, this is new for me. And there is a message in it.

Enjoy Now.

Soak in the successes laid out from the past, furlough thoughts of the future. Just enjoy the moment. Live in the moment.

Do we listen to beautiful music waiting for the final note to fade before we allow ourselves to truly enjoy it? No. We listen and connect to the variations of melody, rhythm, and harmony throughout the composition …

We shouldn’t wait to be happy until we reach some future point, only to discover that happiness was already available—all the time! Life is not meant to be appreciated only in retrospect. ~ Dieter F. Uchtdorf

So last night when two-year-old Miles ran into our room with his blanket and bottle saying “cuddle time” over and over, I put the unfolded laundry on the dresser and enjoyed the moment.

When we were seven minutes late to the gym this morning because of the rain and all the red lights, I enjoyed the pitter patter of the drops on the windshield and counted my blessings.

And I look at my current position in life and I am happy.

I have three meals a day with variety. I have a roof over my head. I have two cars to choose from each morning I go to work. I have central air and heating in my home.

I’ve been to the streets of Mumbai. “Slum Dog Millionaire” did a pretty good job of depicting the reality of the poverty and seemingly hopeless situation except for one detail – the blue tarps covering the huts in the movie looked too new.

I’ve sat on an upside-down 5-gallon plastic bucket on a dirt floor less than a mile away from the Mexico border and listened to a family tell me in Spanish how grateful they were to have running water and a good school for their children to go to.

Now is pretty good. I can live with Now.

Even if you are suffering grief or loneliness, I would challenge you to look for the positive aspects of the current moment. You are alive. You can breath. Hopefully you are not in physical pain.

Go live in the Now!

Now!

One thought on “The Power of NOW!

Please insert your comments below:

