Living Life On Purpose

Isn’t it true that we often get so busy? And, sad to say, we even wear our busyness as a badge of honor, as though being busy, by itself, was an accomplishment or sign of a superior life. ~ Dieter F. Uchtdorf

by Pete Ferguson

Tonight I conclude a true vacation. The kind where I turned off the email to my phone, and really unplugged. Completely. It was only for four days, but it feels like a month.

Today I turned email back on and cleared out the spam and perused what I will need to clear up tomorrow at work. In glancing at the remaining messages in my in box, I see that many issues have resolved themselves, or do not seem as pressing as they would had I been at my desk and offered a quick response.

It is interesting to see from a fresh perspective what can keep me so busy if I do not carefully prioritize tasks at work during the week.

The “urgent but not (really) important” can take up a lot of time. And it can leaves a very unsatisfied feeling on Friday when reflecting upon tasks which created a lot of work with little reward.

Aside from feeling accomplished at work by being busy without making much progress – feeling progress at work but not at home is also a concern.

In our day it is easy to merely pretend to spend time with others. With the click of a mouse, we can “connect” with thousands of “friends” without ever having to face a single one of them. Technology can be a wonderful thing, and it is very useful when we cannot be near our loved ones … However, I believe that we are not headed in the right direction, individually and as a society, when we connect with family or friends mostly by reposting humorous pictures, forwarding trivial things, or linking our loved ones to sites on the Internet … If we fail to give our best personal self and undivided time to those who are truly important to us, one day we will regret it. ~ Uchtdorf

A key to finding the right balance is knowing what we must say “no” to. Often there can be a long list of honorable and good things. Each of which is noble and worth doing.

But I’ve found that my children are growing very rapidly. And I won’t get another opportunity to see them grow up, experience their “firsts” as they develop and grow.

So I say “no” to a lot of other opportunities. Master’s degree. Volunteer responsibilities. Church civic and extended family activities.

Because I have my long-term goals clearly identified, and family is at the top of the list, I’m really just saying “yes” to what matters most.

What’s on your “to do” list this week? If you do not define it today, life will define it for you.

Learn: What do you want your life to look like a year from now? Three years? Ten?

Act: Write down your priorities and the date you hope to accomplish certain tasks. Then work backwards and break the big goals down to weekly action plans.

Share: Working with others provides accountability and support. Look for those who build you up and share what you are working on once plans are in place and action has started.

Please insert your comments below:

