O-N-E HUNDRED – Fish Do Not Climb Trees

Goals are a most wonderful thing. They help you be more than you thought possible and build the self-confidence needed to be successful.

by Pete Ferguson

At the end of May this year I sat in a converted barn known as The Sanctuary in Franklin, Tennessee. I was just winding down an intense, but very enjoyable, two-day training entitled Coaching with Excellence.

I sat with a blank sheet of paper knowing that I needed to write down several goals. And so I decided on the following:

  1. Write 100 blogs – at least one 4 times a week
  2. Hold a preview for a coaching seminar by September
  3. Complete a coaching seminar
  4. Sign up two paid coaching clients

Today marks the 100th blog, and I’ve stuck to the minimum of four times a week. In August I had the free preview and learned a lot. I’m currently reevaluating if the last two goals are where I still want to focus.

At work I’m currently focused on training and creating a career path for our staff members and that may be a new direction that is a better fit for this stage of my life.

I still enjoy the process of talking to people about their careers and resumes. However in the dabbling I’ve done, it doesn’t seem like career coaching is a great fit.

There are excuses and then there is understanding how you are built. I have a PhD in excuses, so I know this change in course is not one. On Dan Miller’s website, 48days.com, I found this quote this morning:

“Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.” ― Albert Einstein

It is a great reminder that in pursuit of following my passion, I must pay close attention to the queues. If people are not daily approaching me for advice on how to get a job – that probably is not where I need to go.

So I’m retooling, and paying close attention to where I’m naturally bent to go in a conversation with others and what unique gift I have that sets me apart from everyone else.

“If things start happening, don’t worry, don’t stew, just go right along and you’ll start happening too.”
― Dr. Seuss

One goal that I am going to continue for another 100 is the writing of this blog. Thank you for following it and supporting me along the way. It has been a great achievement and a long time wish transformed into reality.

Learn: What goals have you set this year that have been a success? Congratulations! Well done! What goals can still be squeezed into the last quarter?

Act: Moving forward is a great thing. Movement in any direction is great too because it means you are alive. Get moving!

Share: In reading a page of Dr. Seuss quotes this morning, I’m sure glad he shared his writings. What greatness is bottled up inside of you that needs to see the light of day?

Please insert your comments below:

