Can a Leopard Change His Spots?

A critic who knew of Warden Clinton Duffy’s efforts to rehabilitate the men said to him, “Don’t you know that leopards can’t change their spots?”
Responded Warden Duffy of California’s San Quentin Prison, “You should know that I don’t work with leopards. I work with men, and men change every day.” ~ Graham

by Pete Ferguson

Can a person change?

Deep down, to the fabric of their being, can a person really change who they are?

I certainly hope so, and I’ve been witness to enough change that I can say from my vantage point, the answers is a resounding “YES!”

I’m grateful for those who believe in me, that I can change, improve, and evolve. And I’m grateful that I can believe in others and be part of their change. For in another person’s change, I also learn, grow, and change myself.

Nowhere is this more true than in parenting. A newborn can do little physically, yet each time I have stared into the eyes of one of my children at birth, I can sense their potential. And as I see them grow, develop, fail, try again, and succeed, they are constantly changing. And I am very green in this development cycle, Mark is only 14.

Mondays are a rebirth for me. The opportunity to create a new week. To experience life in new ways. To interact with new people – and many of my favorite people – in new ways.

A leopard can’t change its spots. And there are many physical aspects of our bodies that are part of who we are. But there are many emotional, physical, mental, and spiritual aspects of who we are that are constantly evolving, improving, and changing.

Learn: What’s one thing you want to change this week? What will it take? Is it a complete change or a the beginning of a much longer change?

Act: There is planning, and their is doing. Very little credit goes to a plan not followed. Change happens through action.

Share: The great thing about life is learning how others have overcome challenges and dealt with change. It helps us better frame experiences emotionally, mentally, and spiritually. Whether you share in a journal, blog, or best yet – in person – you and the listener are both edified.

Please insert your comments below:

