The Benefits of A Smoking Break

August Sky by Pat Dalton – Click to Link

 

by Pete Ferguson

At first I thought I was being a bit of a smart alec with the title of today’s blog. But it turns out smokers do have fewer knee injuries, reduced breast and some types of skin cancer, as well as quicker recovery from heart attacks according to medical research.

 

But I’m not a smoker. Never have been. Tried it once as a kid and decided if I wanted to burn my throat and lungs, I could just breath fire.

But I’ve worked with several smokers and would often go outside on smoke breaks to keep them company.

The fresh air (I learned very quickly to have them sit down wind) and break from staring at my computer was relaxing.

So this week I started taking smoke breaks. Without the smoking.

Just 10-15 minutes outside enjoying the cooling summer weather, smelling a slight hint of Autumn coming from the nearby canyons. Staring up at the perfectly blue sky and allowing my mind to clear.

Then I close my eyes for a few minutes, feel the heat of the concrete ledge I’m lying on and enjoy the warmth of the sun. And soak it all in for winter storage when I’ll need to retrieve these warm thoughts.

Henry Ford spoke of scheduling time to think. No distractions, no meetings, no agenda. Just time to sit, to be, and to think. He was a very wise man.

But the time goes quickly and I reenter the building and the cool conditioned air. I climb the four flights of stairs to my cubicle with a view, sit in front of the screen, and pound out a few hundred words on how our team members can better themselves.

An hour later I’ll get a glass of cold water, mosey back to my cubicle and check emails. Write some more and enjoy the calmer pace of summer before annual budgeting, homework, clubs, practicing of musical instruments, etc.

The four seasons are a great time to renew, change, plan, and enjoy.

Happy Summer!

Learn. Act. Share. Choose your own adventure!

Please insert your comments below:

