Do You Attract Talent or Kill Dreams?

“I genuinely believe people are out to help me”

– Dan Miller

Lilly Pads 1 – Lesley Sobeck Gallery

by Pete Ferguson

When  people tell you their passion, do you give them a list of why it won’t work? Or do you start telling them stories of how you tried something and it failed?

Or do you get excited with them about the possibilities. Connect them to others who can help and provide suggestions on how to make their dream come alive?

Arch Rock – Lesley Sobeck Gallery

It is amazing the wealth of knowledge, inspiration, and energy I have received from fellow dream makers. Perhaps I’m disillusioned, but at least I’m happy. And hopeful.

I recently attended an event at “The Sanctuary,” a converted barn which now serves as an office, fulfillment center, and conference center for career coach and author Dan Miller.

What struck me was that for 48 hours I didn’t hear the word “can’t.”

I did hear, “have you considered?” or “one thing I found that worked better for me.” It was like walking on air. The first day I was cynical and didn’t believe it. The second day I couldn’t get enough of it. As I’ve returned home, the support group continues (visit www.48Days.net to get a sample).

One of my favorite quotes of the week I attended the Coaching with Excellence Event:

“I genuinely believe people are out to help me”

– Dan Miller

Your kids, coworkers, friends, and others are going to approach you in the next 48 hours. Are you going to be a dream killer or attract their talent and help them accomplish their dreams?

You get to decide.

Learn: Take mental (or physical) note of your language with others. Are you giving out positive or negative vibes? What about others and their support of you?

Act: Choose to be around positive people, and choose to be positive yourself. Talent attracts talent. There will be many who will tell you that you “can’t.” Ignore them, seek out those who have already done what you want to do and learn from them.

Share: Provide feedback here and elsewhere. People love feedback, especially when it is supportive, positive, and even constructive if given in the right spirit.

P.S. Help Lesley reach her dream and visit her gallery. She has great photographs of nature from Utah to the East Coast. Visit her gallery, read her blog, make a purchase and you will also be making a donation to preserve the nature she has captured in her photos.

Lilly Pads 1 – Lesley Sobeck Gallery
Click to Link

Arch Rock – Lesley Sobeck Gallery
Click to Link

2 thoughts on “Do You Attract Talent or Kill Dreams?

Please insert your comments below:

