Sweeter After Difficulties – Are You Living the Life You Deserve?

Image

Dulcius Ex Asperis

Sweeter After Difficulties

Memorial Day, originally conceived as a day of reconciliation after the Civil War, has evolved into a day to reflect on all veterans who have given their lives to protect our freedoms. It is also a great time to take inventory of the year so far. Are you living the kind of life you want others to remember?

This morning as I think about my heritage, I am reminded of the Ferguson Clan crest motto: Dulcius Ex Asperis – Sweeter After Difficulties. When faced with difficulty and diversity, there are at least two veins of thought on how to proceed to get through it and find the sweetness. The first may be, survive the pain, it will be nice when it is over to no longer be in pain. The second is to lean into the pain, learn the lesson, and take steps to ensure you do not have to live through it again.

You and I may not be required to find our courage on a foreign battlefield. However, the struggles of overcoming our own fears and self-imposed limitations requires courage.

Are you living up to the potentials of your passion and desire? Is the work you do meaningful, or are you still waiting to know what to do when you grow up?

This past week I was in Franklin, Tennessee, at the property of author, life coach, and whom I consider a friend – Dan Miller. Dan’s book, 48 Days to the Work You Love, was a real pivot point for my career and my life. It helped me turn inward, understand what I need for a life of meaning and fulfillment, and helped me create a new and exciting path as a career and life coach.

Through an in-depth inventory of my own life, I understand that I find joy in helping others understand the “why.” Why do you do what you do? What successes are all around that you cannot see for yourself, but I and others can help you to identify and explore ways to make what you do what you love?

After two years of preparation, I am excited to announce that I will be hosting a 48 Days to the Work You Love Workshop at the end of June locally. I am also considering a virtual forum to reach a broader audience. This workshop is an eight-week exploration on how to better understand and utilize your God-given talents to create a life of passion and excitement.

Are you waiting to retire to enjoy life? Why not start now and then never retire? Stay tuned for more information.

Please insert your comments below:

